Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

4runner differential mystery, need help.

Old 08-07-2009, 04:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4runner differential mystery, need help.

I recently bought a 91 4 runner, and im trying to figure out if the rearend has been changed or modified. making it simple, the door jamb sticker says: g294 so it is an 8" rearend with 4.10 4 pinion open differential. If i am driving in a circle or doing a u turn in 2 wheel drive, it acts like an open differential, if i put it in 4 high or 4 low, it locks up the rearend and the inside tire spins faster than the ground under it. If i try to drive it somewhere a front and a rear tire drop, and dont touch the ground it spins the wheels not touching, and goes nowhere. any ideas, im new to 4wheeling myself but have knowledge in dragracing and such, so differentials are something i understand. From what i have read, it seems that i have a detroit truetrack, the characteristics seem to fit, but the seller said the car was purchased new by his aunt, and was stock. any help here would be appreciated, im going nuts to try to figure out what kind of diff it has. thanks guys.
Old 08-07-2009, 05:09 PM
Contributing Member

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
It sounds like they are open.

If you are driving it on a hard or non-slippery surface in 4wd it will bind and act funky when not going in a straight line.
Old 08-07-2009, 05:15 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
x2 ^^^
Old 08-07-2009, 07:12 PM