Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

22re oil in cooling system only

Old 04-14-2012, 09:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
22re oil in cooling system only

I am posting this for my cousin who has a 1990 4Runner/22re/5speed/4wd with a slight problem....he discovered oil in his cooling system only. There was the cream colored mix in the radiator and overflow bottle but none in the crankcase. The motor is a used motor that has around 80000ish miles that was put in a few months ago but that was bought at least 2 1/2 years ago. And who knows how long it sat in the yard it was bought from. Apparently it has a one year warranty from date of install. We shall see.

There was no white smoke from the tail pipe, no overheating and no oil in the crankcase. He said it was down about 3/4 qt of oil and also down coolant. I believe it would be part of the head gasket that went but I'm no expert. All brain storming from the yotatech crew is welcomed. I said I would post for him so I'm sure he'll chime in at one point. He cleaned out the radiator by flushing the rad with the petcock valve open with the hose. He drove it a little today and it's back to the coffee mix. Start posting your thoughts, guys. Thanks.
Old 04-14-2012, 09:52 AM

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
I can't see any way for oil to get into the coolant without coolant getting into the oil too. Check the driver's side timing chain guide. It wears down and then the chain eats through the timing cover into the water pump housing, and voila! Milkshake. VERY common problem.
Old 04-14-2012, 10:00 AM

Received 69 Likes on 48 Posts
Oil pressure when running 25-30 psi. Coolant pressure when running = 15psi.

Oil pressure when off = 0 psi. Coolant pressure when off = 15psi.

However, that's only on the outlet (pressure) section of the pump. On the "inlet" side it will be 0 or minimal.
So what gaskets separate oil from water on the return (suction) side of the pump?