86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

22-re getting hot at idle and during stop and go

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2007, 07:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

my 22-re in my 94 2wd pickup is getting significantly hot (but never touched red or overheated) when idling in a drive-thru or during stop and go traffic. the weather out here in so cal has been pretty warm lately and having the air conditioning on at idle seems to speed up this process. i deliver pizza for a living, so my rig sees alot of stop and go driving. once i get up to crusing speed the needle drops back down. this condition sounds normal to me, but i wanted to run it by some of you yotatechers.

i thought about maybe installing an aftermarket electric fan, but that might be kind of expenisive. i saw a kit from lc-engineering for about 300 bones.

lc-engineering also had this interesting flex fan:

http://www.toyotacatalog.net/M1WebGe...4-36F6A5C0BDC2

does anybody have any experience with these types of fans? can they help pull more air through the radiator than the stock fan at idle so my engine doesn't get hot?
Old 03-17-2007, 07:57 PM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
t-stat ?
Old 03-17-2007, 08:05 PM

i replaced the thermostat when i bought the truck in october.
Old 03-17-2007, 08:20 PM

It still could be a bad t-stat -water pump - timeing. might check to see if the radiator is flowing good or claptsing hose after warming up, could be several things that need looking into. let us know as you check these things out,
Old 03-17-2007, 08:22 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Usually when you get cooling issues at low speeds it indicates a real issue. Fan clutch, maybe general cooling system capacity issue due to internal crapola.

*Most* electric fans won't cool as well as the stock fan with a shroud.