86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

1995 Pickup / Isuzu 4JB1-TC 2.8TD Conversion

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2018, 10:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1995 Pickup / Isuzu 4JB1-TC 2.8TD Conversion

Hey Folks, first time posting, but I have been lurking on here and gathering info.

I am thinking about doing a diesel conversion with a stock 1995 JDM 4x4 Toyota Pickup Xtra Cab with IFS and ABS. 121" wheel base.

Everything thus far looks very possible. My big question for you all, if anyone knows.. do I stand a chance of avoiding a body lift? I would not want a SAS.

Note: I haven't bought the truck, motor or trans yet.. you are allowed to tell me to not proceed with the project

Regarding my overall plan for the swap:

First, I am new to working on vehicles. My only experience is a '84 Isuzu Diesel P'UP that I have had for two years and have a pretty good understanding of the C223. With that said, I am trying to come out with a plan that is as simple as possible and maintains as much of the stock Toyota pickup as possible. I am also shooting for MPGs and longevity of both the motor and truck.

My plan ideal plan is to get that motor and trans in there while not messing with the transmission crossmember. I would use the original mounting bracket from the MUA5 and hope I can bolt it up to the crossmember with a bit of changes to the bracket. As for engine mounts, there seems to be some options (this is confirmed in Isuzu Forums). Possibly the 4JB1T brackets, '88+ Isuzu pickup brackets, the Toyota's or fab something up.

Then, honestly, I am hoping it is as simple as putting U joint adapters on the driveshafts, possibly shortening the rear driveshaft (WOULD IT HAVE TO BE 'LENGTHENED'???).
Rear axle would be 3.5ish:1 and front axle would be 2.28:1 and I would like to use 29 to 30" tires.