Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

1991 yota brake issues

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2014, 02:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1991 yota brake issues

Hello all, newbie here. I have a question about a brake issue i have got and i'm running out of options except just swapping parts out until i get it fixed which is real expensive. I bought a wreck 1991 4x4 x-cab, frame was bent but i didn;t think it was to bad. After i got it to frame shop, i was looking at around 12 hours of labor time to straighten it which ata 75.00 a hour rate, i decided to swap out frame wiht another one. Now i have it all back together and all parts came off my old frame and was swapped onto new frame. My issue is i was bleeding brakes, and I undid the LSPV under bed and starting bleeding RR,LR,RF,LF procedure and thought i had all air out. My issue my front brakes lock up on both sides. Now i can open bleeder valve and pressure will be reliefed but only till i hit the pedal again. I do know the brakes worked fine on the wreck frame because i drove it down the drive way with everything cut off it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Old 03-28-2014, 08:45 AM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

Just what do you mean lock up??

At What speed?/

Or do you mean your calipers don`t release ??

Till you open the bleeder valve??

How long did they sit Perhaps time for a rebuild.

Now the pads do stay pretty tight against the rotor. without a wheel you might not be able to spin them by hand.
Old 03-28-2014, 10:32 AM