84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

85 22r How to check Ignition control module?

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2013, 01:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
85 22r How to check Ignition control module?

Hello guys and gals, I am new here, tried a search but could not find anything directly relating to this. If it is a killed topic, please forgive me and post a link to a thread that could help.

I have a 1985 carbureted 22r Xtra Cab, My Father in law drives it every day.
Looks like the Alternator went out, but the local "mechanics" checked it out and before I knew it, they had the starter by passed, blew the 60A main fuse, and removed the ignition control module.

Long story short, I am a mechanic, feel free to use the big words and tech talk.
I am just looking for the proper procedure in diagnosing a ignition control module and pick up coil for this truck. If it were not such a costly item, I would just replace it, but you know all too well, these things are not cheap. My coil is getting 7.5 ohms of resistance from both terminals to the plug wire lead, and I have no spark at this time.

I will most likely be replacing the distributor with a rebuilt one (advance plate is frozen ) so I will get a new pick up coil with that. However I am not sure how to check if the ICM is good or not.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thank You!
Old 05-20-2013, 05:53 PM

Hey Auto,

Did you ever receive an answer on this topic? I'm tring to figure out the same thing.
Old 05-21-2013, 06:58 PM

Yes, I did. But not from here. I found it in the shop manual. I forget the procedure, but it involved using a ohm meter and a AA battery.
It failed the test, so I coughed up the $400 for the part. Fired right up after that and runs very well now.
Not sure where you are, but here in SoCal, it was much cheaper at Kreagan or should I say O'Reilly vs AutoZone. I think AZ wanted around $500, and O'Reilly it was like $380.