Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

No braking power with Trail gear rear disc brake kit

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2017, 01:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No braking power with Trail gear rear disc brake kit

Hi , i have a 1981 Toyota 4x4 and i change to rear disc brake conversion. I have a 1 Inch master, a manual proportioning valve with a 2lb residual valve after it and the stock LSPV in the back. Up front i'm running a non vented rotor with 4 pod calipers (2 pods are a bit larger then the other 2)

I bled the brakes a couple of times but the problem persists, if i pump the brakes a couple of times they do hold (didn't test going at a speed but had a friend try to turn the rear wheel by hand.) but after some time i get a soft pedal once again. I checked multiple times for leaks and cant find any. I plugged the rear port from the master and left only the front and brakes work fine but with the rear it seems that there isnt enough pressure to push all 4 calipers. If i switch on the engine the pedal goes to the floor and have to pump it to get something.

Any ideas what i could do?

Last edited by nomadzoul; 11-09-2017 at 01:24 AM.
Old 11-09-2017, 01:14 AM

I read all the write ups and they all mention the same things, Manual proportioning valve so you can adjust rear brake bias , 2LB residual valve for the rear and 1' Master, and some say they removed their rear LSPV and still worked fine.
Old 11-09-2017, 11:05 AM

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Is residual pressure valve backwards?

some 1” MC don’t need a residual valve. Don’t remember years.
Old 11-09-2017, 11:13 AM