Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

Newbie looking to buy

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2013, 10:09 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie looking to buy

I've always loved the early Toyota pickups, and I've been looking to buy one the last few years. Unfortunately I live near Buffalo, NY, and cars just don't last that long around here.

Anyway, a 1973 just popped up on the local Craigslist:

http://buffalo.craigslist.org/cto/3787773310.html

If it hasn't sold I would like to take a look at it, but I'm no mechanic. I have a couple questions for the experienced members of this forum:

1) Any trouble spots / warning signs I should look for?
2) Are parts for this truck available?
3) The ad says the heater core needs to be rebuilt. Will I have trouble getting a local mechanic to work on this?

Thanks
Old 05-10-2013, 11:06 AM

Received 125 Likes on 101 Posts
That is NICE! I wonder if it was never driven, or if it only came to NY really recently.

Compression test, timing chain noise, transmission noise. Make sure there's no coolant in the oil, or oil in the coolant. Check the floorboards at the four corners inside the truck for rust. It'll probably be there. It's up to you how much is ok. Rust is normal. Holes so that you can see the ground through the cab floor is getting bad...but people handy with a welder don't stress much about fixing that.

Parts: yes, but they're sometimes harder to track down. They're out there.

No problem. I'll bet you could do it yourself. So far as I know, there's no rebuilding a heater core. Just replace it. They can be found for cheap, and replaced in a lazy afternoon.

So...ask why he thinks that about the heater core. Often people will think (or say) this or that needs replacing, but it's really a completely different problem. Because they're no more a mechanic than you are.

Things to be aware of: