Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

83 Blowby and Timing Jumps Around

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2014, 10:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
83 Blowby and Timing Jumps Around

Have a 83 Pickup that was rebuilt (by LCEngineering I think) about a year ago. I have two questions,

My baseline timing is set at 14 degrees of advance at idle, but past idle it jumps all around.

I'm getting alot of blowby. Noticed blue smoke in the passenger side of the cab going up a few hills. The previous owner had installed a catch can on the forward breather on the valve cover. The previous owner mentioned that maybe not all of the holes where drilled on the head gasket?

I'm a newbie, any tricks or solutions for my two issues? Thank you.
Old 08-03-2014, 12:23 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
#1: the timing has to be checked in these circumstances:
-engine hot
-idle between 750 rpms and 950 rpms
-vacuum advance disconected from the distrbutor (plug the lines).
-timing should be set around 5*

If you check your timing with the vacuum lines conected to the distributor it is normal that it reads high and that it jumps around if the revs go up. Does the engine run good and strong for a 22r?

#2 It is possible that when the engine was rebuilt the tolerances were incorrect or maybe the break-in procedure was not done properly and the rings never sat good. What type of oil are you using?
Old 08-05-2014, 08:49 PM

Going to cap those lines and recheck timing.

Haven't done an oil change yet, I just bought it a few days ago. What oil would you guys recommend? I'm in colorado 6300ft at base camp.
Old 08-06-2014, 05:22 AM
Super Moderator
Staff

Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts