Pre 84 Trucks 1st gen pickups

22R dies when throttle applied

Old 08-06-2018, 07:02 AM

Received 95 Likes on 53 Posts
22R dies when throttle applied

Hello!
First time poster and new Toyota owner here, please be gentle.I have wrenched on fuel injected volvo 240's for years, this is my first time owning a carbureted engine. I purchased a 1979 4x4 short bed truck about a month ago and put 350 miles on it to date. It's not a show truck! Bought it for recreation and tinkering. Started fine, idled fine, ran fine, stopped fine. Had no problem going 75 on the highway.
Here are the specs that I know so far:
-22r engine (1985)
-weber 32/36
-1985 4 runner transmission
-10w-30 synthetic
-desmogged
-4x4 with 3" lift

A couple of weeks ago I took it out to the mountains. Drove about 40 miles of gravel road. I had a little trouble getting it started after lunch, but attributed that to the fact that I was at about 5500ft elevation. Once running all was fine... While driving home I started getting hesitation if I let off the accelerator at highway speed. It got progressively worse and when I came to a stop I could not keep an idle. Engine stalled and bucked wildly and could barely limp out of the intersection to the side of the road. I let it cool down, did a visual inspection and found no loose parts, hoses, etc and didn't have tools with me so got a tow home. It would start right up but would rough idle and die in about 5 seconds. Fuel tank was 3/4 full with 96 as recommended by the PO.