Tool Time Discussions here pertain to the use of tools you use while fabbing and wrenching in the garage

Welders/fabricators by profession, what do you do and were do you work?

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2013, 02:45 PM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Welders/fabricators by profession, what do you do and were do you work?

Well, darn. Can someone move this to fab?
I'm what I'd call a "dumb" mechanic. I can take mostly anything apart and put it back together, but don't have the know how to go out and get ASE certified. I've been working off and on, part-time, full-time, random-time in the automotive shop my parents own for about 6 years( doesn't add up to much). Two semesters into an Automotive program, I've decided it's not for me. I don't like electronics, and new cars are way too complex than they should be.
The amount of knowledge modern technicians need to know doesn't justify what I see guys getting paid IMO. It no longer interests me. Now, I've taken two semesters of welding, beginning and intermediate. I've loved every minute of it so far(even those hot 105 degree days in the welding shop, and doing those awesome 4G position welds). I am going to start a full time(48 hours a week) 2 semester welding program next year and get my AS degree.

How many different welders do we have here? Some manufacturing guys? Some pipeline guys? What about some gear heads working in some custom fab shops?
I spend many hours a week researching the different type of jobs I can do as a welder. I love working outside, and pipeline welding has caught my interest. I'm going to do the extra summer semester to do the pipeline classes at the college just to do it. The more I hangout here on Yotatech, the more I'd like to get into 4x4 fabrication. Fourwheeling and taking my 4runner apart and fixing it, wrenching on it has been my main hobby for about 3 years now.