Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Prerunner Offroad?

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2003, 07:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Prerunner Offroad?

I recently bought a Dcab Tacoma Prerunner, and disovered this forum. So far, I've been able to hook up my alarm and CD changer through everybody's help.

Now, being an offroad newbie, I was wondering if my truck's equipped enough for some light offroad use. It's got a rear locker, and living here in AZ, there's not much mud to get stuck in.

Also, is there anywhere around Phoenix to do such a thing legally? All the areas I've heard of have big signs which say NO MOTOR VEHICLES. I'd rather not risk being fined.

Thanks for the help guys, I'm learning more every day.
Old 09-06-2003, 08:22 AM

You can go into the light stuff. Avoid hill climbs as the front isn't pulling you up like with a 4WD. As long as you air down enough you shouldn't have too much problem in the sand.
Old 09-06-2003, 03:04 PM

Thanks for the reply, I'm not planning on getting it up to the doors in mud, so I should be OK.

Any suggestions on where to go PHoenix guys?
Old 09-06-2003, 03:39 PM

use to run

i use to run out on the carefree highway off of 17 but that was 12 years ago.
Old 09-06-2003, 03:46 PM

I used to live in AZ. But now i'm goin to school out here in the midwest. There's a lot of local places, like if you take scottsdale up to dynamite road and make a right, take dynamite all the way out and you'll find some dirt roads you can turn on, and some of those roads lead to pretty cool off-road excursions, while others just lead you to ppls' houses lol. Anyways, I think at the end of dynamite road, if you make a left it takes you to some sort of wash where ppl off-road at.