Offroad Tech Discussion pertaining to additions or questions which improve off-road ability, recovery and safety, such as suspension, body lifts, lockers etc
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Broken leafsprings, and suspension lift advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2008, 10:04 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Broken leafsprings, and suspension lift advice

Hey,
My truck is a 1997 Tacoma 4x4, regular cab. Today I noticed that one of my leafsprings is broken in half. This is the second time this has happened. I would like to replace the suspension, and add a lift as well. (I can tell the suspension is worn out) Right now I run 32x11.5x15 all terrains, I would like to run 35's. Where should I look for a good suspension update that will lift me up a bit, and be on budget. (I am a broke college student)
Id say the budget is around $1,000- $1,500 and hopefully I can do the work myself. Does anybody have any suggestions, pictures, advice?

Thanks,

Paul
Old 11-15-2008, 02:08 PM
tc
Contributing Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
You are going to be hard pressed to run 35's on your budget. Hell, the tires alone run that much! Why do you think you need 35's? Do you 'wheel a lot?

To fit 35's on a Tacoma, you need a bracket lift, like the Fabtech - there are others too. Prices seem to run about $2,000 ... which brings up the last point ...

For what it's going to cost to put 35's on your IFS, you need to consider 2 things:
- MOST trails can be run on 33's
- $2000 is a helluva chunk out of the $3000 it would take to SAS it.

Check out Craigslist, you never know what you'll find ... probably bracket lifts from people who wish they had just SAS'd to start.
Old 11-17-2008, 12:03 PM

I only meant the suspension work as part of the budget. Not sure how much the work even goes for, or where to look for parts or somebody to do the work.