Early Land Cruisers All solid front axles and Land Cruiser series - 25, 40, 45, 55, 60, 62, and 80

Frame Rust Questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2003, 06:36 AM
CTB

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Frame Rust Questions

Hey fellas,

The '79 FJ40 that I picked up earlier this year has a little bit of frame rust in a few spots, and I was wondering what the general accepted fix is for something like this. My plan, since I will be doing a full restoration, was to eventually take the body off, remove all the other parts, and then have the frame sandblasted and painted. Does this seem like a viable option, or should I be considering something else?

I'm just looking for some input and suggestions as I am new to the Land Cruiser world. Thanks for any help y'all can give me.

CTB
Old 09-04-2003, 07:44 AM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
is it surface rust? I would coat with one of those rust converting chemicals and paint. If it is penetrating I would have it prof checked out and repaired.

Sand blast and paint sounds good. The real way to restore.
Old 09-05-2003, 09:48 AM
CTB

Cool, thanks for the info David. I have been plans for this cruiser, but now all I need to do is come up with some funds! Going to college doesn't exactly leave me a lot of time or money to work on the cruiser. Oh well, that may be my college graduation present to myself!!
Old 09-05-2003, 03:55 PM
Contributing Member

CTB,

Remember money is just a small part of the process. The biggest and hardest part to control is patience. Take your time and do things right the first time or as time allows.

This is definitely a long term project. When you are finished that thing will be a part of you and you won't be able to let it go. Unless of course you rush through it and have recurring problems over and over.

My advice.........."be patient and ask a lot of questions, get many,many opinions, then go with your gut feeling".