Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

89 4Runner Rear Window Help!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2005, 03:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
89 4Runner Rear Window Help!!!!!!

OK, so I'm guessing that this is something that alot of 4runner Owners have dealt with, but I'm new to this game, and I'm learning so help me out please

So, MY rear electric window has been a problem since I bought this truck a few weeks ago... I WAS able to push on the left upper corner of the tailgate adn get the window to go up and down... when I did this, I could hear something clicking on and off every time the key was used... Now I'm thinking I may have blown a fuse today as it just stoped working all together, but NOWHERE in my Hanes or Chiltons manual can I find a wiring diagram for the rear window electrics... I've had it apart and greased it all up which helped alot, but still, I have to push on the tailgate to get it to work, so I can't exactly use the front switch... does anybody have any troubleshooting suggestions, or a wiring diagram, or some knowledge that they'd like to share with me please? I really love this truck to death already, but I'd like to get some of the little things sorted out so she's a bit more reliable ya know...

Cheers and No worries

Dave
Old 08-30-2005, 04:23 PM

congrats on the runner and now its time to get to know the search button. tonnes of stuff for the rear window with the wiring diagram. the most common problem is goin to be your motor or regulator. i believe your manual tells you where the main fuse is for the rear window. also it wont go up or down if the wiper or rear defog is on. best thing is to open the tailgate up and inspect. changing the regulator and motor is pretty simple and relatively cheap if you get used parts. hope all goes good. your runner looks sweet. i really like 1st gens.
Old 08-30-2005, 06:05 PM