Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

'01 Prerunner Off-Road?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2004, 07:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'01 Prerunner Off-Road?

Ladies and Gents,
Just recently purchased my first vehicle (just turned 18 last month, legal...finally), an '01 Tacoma Prerunner SR5 4Cyl 2.7L w/Bedliner & 38000 mi, a serious upgrade from the hand-me-down mitsu minivan that I was driving, and I must say that comparitively and generally I am very impressed and pleased.

My question though is, just how much "off-roading" can my truck handle? Most importantly, should I be able to take her on the beach, being that I live in Va beach? I was told that if I bled some air out of the tires I should be fine on the sand. Is this true? Are there any mods that I can put on her to make her more suitable for off-road?

Being that I'm 18 and she's my first truck I have limited off-roading tech knowledge, so some tips would be much appreciated as well. Although I'm fairly proficient as a mechanic, not an expert by any means but definitely have a decent mechanical ability.

Thanks in advanced for the help, and I must say I'm proud to be a Tacoma owner. I can think of anything better in an 18y/o's mind though than him, a girl, and his truck taking a romp on the beach except maybe; him, two girls, and his truck taking a romp on the beach.

Last edited by RedPrerunnerSR5; 09-29-2004 at 07:40 PM.
Old 09-30-2004, 01:12 AM
Contributing Member

is there anything you could add to make your truck handle better off-road?
Are you serious?

I'll be the first to say it, SEARCH

First thing you need is some good tires. Then if you don't have one i'd get a locker. After that, i'd lift it for a-looks b-aftermarket shocks/springs are going to proform much better than stock units. Then i'd somehow add 4x4. Either by a solid axle swap, or just adding in the ADD IFS system thats in all 4Runners/Tacos.