86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

Brett823's 1986 4Runner Build -up thread

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2010, 05:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brett823's 1986 4Runner Build -up thread

Well after lots of research on these forms i felt like it was time to rebuild the old runner. I have always loved the body style of the 80's 4-runner and finally bought one this summer. It is in great shape, but it is definitely time for a engine rebuild. After reading many threads on here and seeing different ways others have tackled this task, i decided it was go time. I will do my best to do a detailed photo shoot as i got but i am already off to a bad start. Took me awhile to find the camera and started before i found it. I am posting this to hopefully help others like you guys have already done for me, as well as productive input and help and i got. So if you have done this i would love the help. I am new to yotatech and cant wait to be apart of this great community.

Last edited by Brett823; 11-20-2010 at 05:43 PM.
Old 11-20-2010, 05:54 PM

Here are a few of todays pictures.

Intake and throttle body was full of oil. Im hoping this is due to worn out rings.

Last edited by Brett823; 11-20-2010 at 05:55 PM.
Old 11-21-2010, 08:46 AM

What is the best way to clean this intake manifold? Im trying to keep things cheap but i will probly end up taking it all to a hot tank. Also i was wondering what the average machine shop bill would be on a motor?
Old 11-21-2010, 04:40 PM

Day 2

Well Today we got the motor out finally. Since I am still currently lacking an engine stand, I started cleaning parts the best i can. I have a major oil issue in the intake manifold and am not quite sure to do. Does anyone know how sensitive the fuel injectors are? Been thinking about replacing them. That intake looks very intimidating and not really wanting to take it apart. But anyways here are a few pictures from todays work.

I took a few pics of the runner too.