General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Stereo wire gauge

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2013, 07:47 AM

Received 125 Likes on 101 Posts
Stereo wire gauge

I'm putting a new stereo and speakers in my truck. I've read a lot about larger speaker wire being better, especially over long stretches.

Then I open my new speakers up, and they come with really thin wire, and probably 6' of it. With special connectors to connect to the speakers.

So...am I fine with the really skinny, really long speaker wire?

Should I cut it down to the size I need, so it doesn't have such a long run?

Or should I use thicker wire, and figure out how to get the right connectors on the thicker wire, so it'll connect with the speakers?

AND (I realize these are total newbie questions), how do I run the back speakers? There are wires for the front left & right speakers, but then it looks like there are just two plug-in spots for the rear speakers? How's that work? I bought speaker wire for the rear speakers, but it's obviously two wires for each speaker. How does that connect to just two plug-in places for all 4 speaker wires?
Old 06-06-2013, 08:53 AM

Ok after a little mor research I'm not worried about the speaker wire. I'll just use what they gave me and cut it down to no longer than it needs to be.

Still confused on wiring the rear speakers, though..
Old 06-06-2013, 11:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The rear speakers should just wire up like any other speaker. If not it would be in your best interest to rig them like normal speakers. It will save you some time if you ever need to tear into them again.
Old 06-06-2013, 11:35 AM

Huh. I'll have to look again.

What I saw coming out of the wiring harness of the stereo were four speaker wires. Two of them said left front, and two said right front.