General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Outlet install help

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2010, 10:53 PM

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Outlet install help

Alright, I know there's already a few threads on YT on the subject, but those went waay over my head. I'm brand new to wiring so I'd greatly appreciate some help on this. If someone could give me some detailed instructions and a parts lists that'd be great.

I own a 1990 4Runner, and I want to add power outlets where the ashtray is behind the center console. I've seen pics of this, wish I knew who did it so I could give credit for the idea. A toggle switch would be nice, idk if its necessary though. But if anyone could give me some help on this that'd be great. Like I said completely new to this so explain in detail please.

Thanks in advance
-Charlie
Old 07-16-2010, 11:11 PM

88TacoRunner is who did it, looks great

http://i677.photobucket.com/albums/v...yl77/014-1.jpg
Old 07-17-2010, 09:25 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Here's some tips and pics to help you with that mod. I'm not sure the differences in the 1st and 2nd gen Runner insides, but I'll assume they're basically the same. I used some flat stock steel to use as mounting straps that tie into the inner sheetmetal horiziontally, attached with self tappers. This allowed me to elevate the inverter and still take adavantage of the cargo space below.