General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

6"x9" speakers cutting out with bass

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2011, 10:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
6"x9" speakers cutting out with bass

Hey guys, so I recently decided to upgrade the speakers in my 4Runner. Well, I wanted bigger speakers, and I figured my pioneer head unit could power two 6x9s, but they sound like crap if I pump any bass from them at all. I think it could be that they're not getting enough power. Should I buy an amp for them and wire it, or is there an easier way to get them more power? I'm extremely new to the whole car audio thing, so please forgive me for being a newb ha. Thanks!
Old 11-13-2011, 11:19 AM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
depends on how many rca's your deck has a small like 200w amp would be plenty

Last edited by Elton; 11-13-2011 at 11:20 AM.
Old 11-13-2011, 11:50 AM

Do you have any recommendations in what kind I should get? Also, how difficult would be running the wiring?
Old 11-13-2011, 12:04 PM
Contributing Member

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
wireing is easy just run power and some rca's and speaker wire

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...KAC-1502S.html

http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...y-Scosche.html
Old 11-13-2011, 12:41 PM

are yer speakers in boxes? they will sound much better if so
Old 11-20-2011, 10:58 AM

They're both in speaker boxes mounted from my roll bar. Have any of you guys wired an amp in a 1st gen 4Runner? I honestly have no idea where to start with this.
Old 11-29-2011, 09:02 AM

the type of amp that you will want is really dependant on what kind of speakers you got.