Notices
Maintenance & Repair Care and feeding of your rig

3VZE - EGR / PAIR valve removal and engine simplification.

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2012, 02:52 AM

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
3VZE - EGR / PAIR valve removal and engine simplification.

This is a write-up to delete the EGR and PAIR valves on a 3VZE engine. I’m not going to get into why you would want to do this, but this is how.

I DO NOT BELIEVE WILL NOT BE ABLE TO PASS ANY KIND OF EMISSIONS INSPECTION WITH THESE SYSTEMS REMOVED, you may be able to pass a regular check if you have a really good catalytic converter but you would definitely fail visual inspection.

I ASSUME NO RESPONSIBILITY TO DAMAGE THAT MAY OCCUR TO YOUR ENGINE IN ANY FORM FROM PERFORMING THIS MODIFICATION, DUE TO THE FACT THAT THIS INVOLVES THE REMOVAL OF EMISSIONS SYSTEMS, IT SHOULD BE FOR OFFROAD USE ONLY.

I have been running like this for 2 months with zero issues. I may have left something out, this IS from memory. If anyone has any problems let me know.

Bare Minimum Required Parts:
- Various sized vacuum caps
- Vacuum hose (good time to change)
- 10k ohm resistor
- Basic tools

Step 1:
Remove all vacuum hoses on the passenger side of the engine.

Step 2:
Remove the EGR and PAIR valve system piping from the passenger side exhaust manifold (these are the 2 smaller diameter tubes attached to the manifold). You will have to plug up the holes that they leave; you can do this by cutting the flanges off the tubes, and cutting up a soda can to make some plates that were the same size as the flange/gaskets. I then bolted it back up to the manifold going flange-plate-gasket.

Step 3:
If you want, you can remove the box that is bolted below the main air box. It is for reducing intake noise or something along those lines; removing it simply frees up engine space, I do not notice a difference in sound level. If you do this you will have to plug the empty hole it leaves in the intake. I used a PVC cap that fit in.

Step 4: