General Vehicle Related Topics (Non Year Related) If topic doesn't apply to Toyotas whatsoever, it should be in Off Topic

Hi-Lift Jack & Amsteel Blue Whinch Rope

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2003, 07:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Hi-Lift Jack & Amsteel Blue Whinch Rope

Hey Guys. I'm fairly new to 4 wheeling and I got a question. I'm getting a Hi-Lift jack to use for winching until they make an ARB bull bar for my 2003 4runner. I was wondering if instead of using a chain for the winching process could I use a synthetic rope like Amsteel Blue Winch Rope? If that is possible how should I set it up? Give me the whole run down of items needed for Hi-Lift Jack winching. Thanks.
Old 11-25-2003, 09:22 PM

Good question, it would be easier than carrying a load of chain around. But how often do you need to winch with a HiLift? It's usually the last resort, whoever you go wheeling with should just tug you free of what's got you stuck.
Old 11-25-2003, 09:22 PM

lemme tell you dude, trying to winch with a hi-lift sucks ass. and trying to do it with a synthetic rope would suck even more because it stretches a little.

the only reason i use the hi-lift is because i have no $$$

if i were you, i might look into a custom fabbed bumper for the front, but if you really want to wait for the bull bar, this is what you need untill then: http://www.cspoutdoors.com/morpowpul.html
Old 11-26-2003, 07:11 AM

Yup, vehicle recovery w/ a Hi-lift is a really good workout. Tried "winching" my truck up a slight incline just for kicks w/ one and it sucked. I can't even imagine using one on a vehicle that's really stuck.
Old 12-01-2003, 03:59 AM
Contributing Member

Now that everyone is done saying how hard / bad it is to do..read this write up