Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Tundra/FJ80 Lift for 99 4runner

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2010, 07:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tundra/FJ80 Lift for 99 4runner

So I am piecing together a lift for my 99 4runner. I am going with front fj80 coils and rear shocks for the rear of my 4runner and some Tundra TRD springs with OME N91S shocks for the front. I'm hoping to have this thread be a slow progress update type of thing. Any tips, advice, comments, etc are all welcome as I am still a noob and I have alot to learn from everyone.

Does anyone know if Tacoma coilovers will work to lift the 4runner? if so what years? What are some other options for a lift for the front of the 4runner? As you already might have noticed, I'm trying to go with mostly stock OEM Toyota parts to maintain that smooth ride on the road, and good flex capability off road.

So far I was able to pick up a set of FJ80 front coils from a 1991 LC and a pair of black rear shocks off the same LC. The LC had 166,000 miles at the time when they swapped out the suspension for a lift. I'm a little afraid that these are going to be too tall and give me more lift than what I'm looking for. I will hold on to them until I can find the right coils which I think are from a 97 2WD LC. None-the-less my collection for a lift has just gotten bigger and I can't wait to get my hands on some Tundra coils and Bilstein shocks. The diff drop kit, pan hard bar, bushings etc will probably have to be ordered from toytec or SS if I can't find a good deal elsewhere.

Am I on the right track and what do you guys think I should be looking out for? I think this type of lift resembles the 1.2 system from Sonoran Steel.
Old 03-28-2010, 05:47 PM

I'm a little confused about which shocks to use from the Land Cruiser. Do I use the front for the rear of the 4runner or the rear for the rear?
Old 03-28-2010, 06:31 PM