86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Please help diagnose an engine noise

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2014, 05:33 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Please help diagnose an engine noise

I am trying to diagnose the cause of a noise my engine makes. I would call it valve noise, but I am not a professional. Let me start with some background and information:

My truck is a 1990, but the engine block, head, and internal components are from a 1992. The prior owner did the engine swap. He also replaced the timing chain at that time. It was his first engine swap.

When I first got the truck (about a 1 1/2 years ago), the idle was really high. As I was learning how to bring the idle back down to specs, one of things I did was rotate the distributor a little either way. Between messing with that, adjusting the TPS, and adjusting the air/idle screw, the idle is now where it should be.

The noise that the engine makes I would guess or assume is valve noise, but I am not sure. It doesn't sound that much different to an exhaust leak - it's a really fast tapping sound. I can tell you the following about it:

-The speed of the noise corresponds to the engine speed.
-The noise is most common when the engine is warm and is at low to moderate RPMs.
-When I was rotating the distributor a little when I was working on the idle, if I rotated it so the RPMs decreased, the noise got worse; if I rotated it so the RPMs increased, the noise was not quite as bad.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and thanks for your input. I'd like to take a stab at fixing this myself, but I'd like to get some ideas first as to what the core issue might be.
Old 03-05-2014, 06:18 AM