Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

new to truck maintance

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2007, 03:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
new to truck maintance

Hey, everyone

I am just out of college and now that I have some money I want to perform some maintance on my truck that has been neglected. I want to do as much of it as I can by myself because I am a police officer and well I don't get paid enough to pay some one I can do myself. I am pretty mechanically inclined but I am inexperianced.

On to my truck.

1995 3.0vz auto 4x4 extended cab.

148k miles

I know I need a new transmision. My transmission has been overheating and I can smell burnt metal when I am done. It is usually only at highway speeds but around town is fine. The ATF light comes on if i run it over 65mph for a few minutes. I have put cooler on it and it still does this. I am just waiting on the money from my taxes to either have it replaced or rebuilt which ever is needed. Any suggestions to this would be greatly appreciated.

But what I am really concerned with is the general maintance that needs to be completed. I need to know what should be done and any tips or tricks to help me complete these tasks. I am not looking for outstanding performance. I just need a truck that gets around town reliably

I was directed here from a gun forum I frequent and I hope to get the same quality level of information and fun that I get there.
Old 03-11-2007, 03:40 PM
Contributing Member

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Welcome to YT. You'll find some very good info and people here.

Without knowing the condition of your vehicle, I'd suggest the following, in no particular order:

Fluid level checks throughout (tranny, PS, engine oil, brake fluid)
Oil change (engine, diffs)
Grease all pivots and U-Joints
General tuneup (spark plugs, wires, cap, rotor)
Check timing belt (replace if worn)
Replace acc belts (if worn)
Radiator flush