84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd gen pickups and 1st gen 4Runners with solid front axles

high pinion vs wedges

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2012, 11:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
high pinion vs wedges

Hi everyone, im new to yota tech and have already become obsessed with the site... love it... I brought my 2nd toyota project last summer and have been working on it to get it ready to roll in the spring.. The question i have is i have to correct the axle housing angle on the front, i have 35s and i think a 3 inch lift.. Obviously a high pinion third would be best but what are peoples thoughts on adding wedges to twist the axle housing up a bit...
thanks
Old 02-15-2012, 11:41 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Wedges/pinion angle shims, whatever you wanna call them, are ok for the rear, but in the front it'll ruin your caster angle and make your steering feel off. Having not experienced it myself with a sfa truck, I don't know for sure, but I've heard it will increase the likelihood of death wobble and reduce your turning radius. Others may chime in with more specifics, but I know it's not a good idea.
If you only have a 3" lift I don't think your front driveline will be that angled to need any correction, either.
Old 02-15-2012, 11:49 AM

thanks, yeah ive heard that about shims in the front, it is used on the road abit so want to avoid the death wobble... Im not actually sure on the lift height, it was on the truck when i got it, the truck was an unfinished project with a mint 86 frame with sas, that was the reason i grabbed it as its hard to find good frames with a solid front axle up here in canada!! How would i determind my lift height, do i measure the spring length or perhaps shock lengh.. My u-joint looks like it could bind when articulated. im just wondering if there is a decent alternative to a high pinion set up...
Old 02-15-2012, 11:52 AM

Received 69 Likes on 48 Posts