The Fab Shop Tube buggies, armor protection and anything else that requires cutting, welding, or custom fab work

Larger alternator vs dual battery

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2003, 08:02 AM
Contributing Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Good thing I'm not an electrician!
Old 12-12-2003, 05:56 PM
Contributing Member

Originally posted by Shane
Not really a good idea. If one battery begins to fail it will take the other with it. Even when they're good one will always be lower than the other and they will fight eachother over time until both are drained. You have to have some way to seperate them, either through a switch or an isolator.
You're right that without a switch or an isolator, when and if one battery goes bad it will drain the other one. If both batteries are good, there is no problem running them without a switch or isolator, they will both settle at full charge and then discharge equally when a load is applied, provided the batteries are of similar size and capacity. The switch is a good idea, is easy to install, and doesn't really have any drawbacks beyond the added cost. An isolator on the other hand will mean the batteries are never fully charged unless you have a regulator with remote sensing capability, something most cars and trucks will not have.
Old 12-13-2003, 02:55 PM

Hey Gibby

Thought you might be interested...

http://www.excessiveamperage.com
Old 01-28-2005, 04:06 PM

Do both!

High power alternator install on a '85 Toy 4Runner, 140 amps for $140:

http://news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=stor...r_050128235115

Dual battery installation:

http://www.rocketcityrockcrawlers.co...20Part%20I.pdf

Thanks,

Al
Old 01-29-2005, 05:16 PM

You Need An Isolator

Here's my set-up....
https://www.yotatech.com/forums/show...dual+batteries

This computer is messed up, that should take you there....