Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Valve Covers, TB, airsurge, and lower intake gasket replacement? Knock sensor?

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2004, 07:17 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Valve Covers, TB, airsurge, and lower intake gasket replacement? Knock sensor?

ok i've done a LOT of searching and found very little on these subjects.

I have a LOT of questions:

1. Im going to be pulling the Throttle body from the upper intake and fully cleaning it. When I reattach it, I'm going to use a new gasket. Should I use any gasket cement or anything like it? What problems can I run into cleaning my TB like this?

2. I'm pulling the upper intake off so I can access both valve covers, will the new gasket require a cement of some kind?

3. I'm replacing the valve cover gaskets, this is something I have never done before, and I dont have my chiltons. (lost it) What's this I hear about rubber grommets?? And again should i use some sort of pvt compound or gasket cement.

4. PVC valve should be replaced and the hose for it too right?

5. Finally should I just throw down and replace the knock sensor/harness too? I dont even know what the knock sensor looks like.

The maze of vacum lines and throttle linkages dont really intimidate me, i've pretty much got the picture of the plenum memorized and ive taken dozens of pics to boot.

And does anyone have any pics on ANY of this stuff that will help me?
Old 09-21-2004, 09:26 PM

ok so what happened to all the technical posts that used to fill this forum?

ttt
Old 09-22-2004, 04:39 AM

helloooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Old 09-22-2004, 04:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sorry man, I got nothing for you, but I too am interested as I will be doing the valve cover gaskets as well. I was told by a Toyota mechanic to use RTV at the corners of valve cover gaskets to help prevent leaks, if that’s any help.
I don’t know about any rubber grommets.

bump for ya.