See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Toyota 4Runner Exterior Guides
Print Wikipost

Squeaking noise in reverse

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2003, 03:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Squeaking noise in reverse

This is my first time on the site. What an awesome find. I've been going nuts trying to figure out this noise we have on our 01 LTD we bought a couple months ago. I figured there are more knowlegeable people on this forum than anywhere else so here it goes.....

I didn't notice it when we took the test drive, but when I back up and cut the wheels hard to the right the 4runner makes a terrible squeaking sound. It does it with or without pressing the brakes, but seems to be coming mostly from the rear passenger side. The dealer cleaned the brakes and it did nothing to help. It sounds like a high pitched squeaking and does it anytime I back up. First thing, after driving all day, hot, cold, anytime. I heard another 4runner in a parking lot backing up the other day doing the same thing. Please help.
Old 03-13-2003, 05:00 PM
CTB

Do you have your wheel turned all the way to one side? If so, it is likely your steering stops. Check out this article and go from there:

http://www.4x4wire.com/toyota/mainte...ront_end/lube/

scroll down to the first section about the steering stops.
Old 03-16-2003, 05:20 PM

CTB,