YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-01-2008, 04:34 PM   #1
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
P0120 Throttle Position Sensor/Switch A Circuit Malfunction

Anyone ever pull this code. I have a 2000 4Runner sr5 4wd. How hard is the fix and how much does it cost.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
ato178028 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 04:38 PM   #2
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to fatboidai
i had the same code i think you can replace the sensor for like 60 bucks but i dont know if that will solve the problem
fatboidai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 12:32 PM   #3
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
anyone else know about this code
ato178028 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2008, 01:23 PM   #4
Contributing Member
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
MTL_4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montreal, QC Canada
Posts: 8,807
Send a message via AIM to MTL_4runner
Quote:
Originally Posted by ato178028 View Post
anyone else know about this code
Do a search on TPS sensor......you'll need to replace yours.
__________________
- Jamie

1996 4Runner SR5 4X4 Auto

Deckplate Mod, Hayden Tranny Cooler, Amsoil Air Filter, OME 881/906 N86C/N91SC Lift

Best OBD II scan tool I have used!.

.....and I am AMERICAN!
MTL_4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 10:28 AM   #5
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 50
thanks for the info.
ato178028 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 10:46 AM   #6
WFO
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
WFO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 499
Doesnt neccisarily mean the TPS is bad. Could be an o2 sensor, MAF sensor or anything related.

Had a bad TPS code on my girlfreinds 99 and turned out to be both o2 sensors.

Good luck
WFO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2008, 11:12 AM   #7
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 155
grab the tacoma 2000 manual that is floating on the internets out there. it is pretty much the same as a 4runner manual except trim, but the motor info and ecui is all the same....it's out there somewhere....it has all the test parameters to determine which sensor is throwing good voltages

somewhere in yotatech is a link to a site where you can download the manual....forgot where I found it


EDIT:

here is a thread with a link

http://www.yotatech.com/f2/5vzfe-help-137910/

you get download and extract manual to your pc, and you will have an index.html
which brings up the whole thing in a nice readable format.

get this and a volt meter and you will be able to determine basic functionality
of certain sensors. may save you some trouble


specifically you want to read cip0120.pdf which explains operation and test parameters for the Throttle position switch

Last edited by edzo; 03-03-2008 at 11:22 AM.
edzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 05:27 PM   #8
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Barrie, Ont. Canada
Posts: 132
po120 2000 4runner 5spd

ok, I read the FSM, cip120

so before i try to negotiate this electrontics stuff with a volt meter.. anyone have experience with this? was it a sensor, could the trottle body actually be sticking?

TheRPMs stick, then eventually comes down with time (a second or two at a light)

Is this something I can clean like a Mas air flow sensor?

Any help is appreciated.

Tommy

I don't know lately it seem like it is one thing after another with my runner.
tommytuttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 03:16 PM   #9
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
ravencrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Here are pics of the TPS (Throttle Position Sensor). It's really easy to change just two screws, You need a stubby screwdriver though. I took these pictures from my 2000 Tacoma so it will be in the same exact spot! Hope this helps.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Throttle Position Sensor

Click the image to open in full size.
ravencrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 03:22 PM   #10
rtn
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 19
ravencrew: does that sensor just screw on, with no adjusting needed?
rtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 03:41 PM   #11
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
ravencrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtn View Post
ravencrew: does that sensor just screw on, with no adjusting needed?
Yeah it just is held on with two screws. Nope you just take out the old and replace it with a new one I was told it recalibrates itself when the motor is restarted with the new one. I replaced mine and haven't had a problem along with the Mass Airflow. If you need a pic of it (Mass Airflow Sensor) and it's location let me know I'll go out and take a couple of shots for ya!

Last edited by ravencrew; 01-06-2009 at 03:46 PM.
ravencrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:09 PM   #12
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Barrie, Ont. Canada
Posts: 132
Great thanks for the pictures. Is there any doubt that if the code is coming up that the sensor is bad? Is there anyway to clean them like you do with a MAF?

Part number? is that it in the picture 89452-35020 -198500-1061?

I hear in the states it is something like 60$?? I wonder what there are here in canada.. probably 120.

Thanks for the pictures and the post.

Can I assume your RPMs were sticking before coming down until you replaced it?
tommytuttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 02:50 PM   #13
rtn
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Marin County, CA
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ravencrew View Post
Yeah it just is held on with two screws. Nope you just take out the old and replace it with a new one I was told it recalibrates itself when the motor is restarted with the new one. I replaced mine and haven't had a problem along with the Mass Airflow. If you need a pic of it (Mass Airflow Sensor) and it's location let me know I'll go out and take a couple of shots for ya!
Hey, thanks for the offer. I've removed/cleaned the MAF so I'm good. Thanks for the info on the TPS. Why did you replace? Did you get a CEL?
rtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 04:00 PM   #14
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
ravencrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommytuttle View Post
Great thanks for the pictures. Is there any doubt that if the code is coming up that the sensor is bad? Is there anyway to clean them like you do with a MAF?

Part number? is that it in the picture 89452-35020 -198500-1061?

I hear in the states it is something like 60$?? I wonder what there are here in canada.. probably 120.

Thanks for the pictures and the post.

Can I assume your RPMs were sticking before coming down until you replaced it?
I had the same code for my Tacoma. No way of cleaning this one you'll just have to replace it. Throttle response was sluggish works great after I replaced it! I paid $63.00 for the new part at a Parts House. I ordered an OE replacement so I wouldn't have an aftermarket part on the truck! Glade it Helped!

Last edited by ravencrew; 01-07-2009 at 06:23 PM.
ravencrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 08:27 AM   #15
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Barrie, Ont. Canada
Posts: 132
Thanks,

Called my dealer.. approx 200$ for the sensor.

I took a look at it the other night.. looks like the bottom screw is going to be a little tough to get out. just quickly tried but it is in there pretty tight so I left it for a time when I could take my time to make sure I don't strip it.
tommytuttle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 03:02 PM   #16
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
ravencrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommytuttle View Post
Thanks,

Called my dealer.. approx 200$ for the sensor.

I took a look at it the other night.. looks like the bottom screw is going to be a little tough to get out. just quickly tried but it is in there pretty tight so I left it for a time when I could take my time to make sure I don't strip it.
Here's a little trick I do to get a phillips screw out in tight places:

Click the image to open in full size.

You go to your Hardware store and buy a small phillips screw bit and attach it to a small socket w/ a small ratchet.

Click the image to open in full size.

The Socket I use is made for these bits but just a regular one will work. The one made for the bit has a c clip inside so you don't lose the bit.

Click the image to open in full size.

Saves the knuckles and you can put more pressure on the head of the screw without stripping it!
ravencrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:30 PM   #17
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 195
I got that code once or twice then it would go away. I cleaned the throttle body and havent seen the code since.
See link http://www.yotatech.com/f123/re-3-4l...ac-pics-92286/
__________________
1998 4runner
hopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:30 PM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
2000, 4runner, air, circuit, flow, location, malfunction, mass, p0120, pedal, pics, position, sensor, switch, throttle

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: 2001-2002 Throttle Body or Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) Andrey The Classifieds GraveYard 7 01-11-2008 11:59 AM
CEL P0120 Throttle Position Sensor/Switch A Circuit Malfunction grimpy 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 12 01-24-2006 04:43 AM
P0121 - Throttle Pedal Switch Position Sensor Andrey Maintenance & Repair Archives 4 05-14-2005 07:13 PM
Throttle Position Sensor Bassinfool 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 15 03-20-2005 08:22 AM
Throttle Position Sensor lerence Maintenance & Repair Archives 6 08-21-2004 11:00 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:22 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.