Notices
95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4th gen pickups and 3rd gen 4Runners

Corner lamp and gear selector lamp inoperable

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2011, 08:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Corner lamp and gear selector lamp inoperable

I've had a strange problem for a while now, and it's bugging me enough to try and fix it.

My right front corner marker lamp does not work. It worked for about a month after I bought the truck, then just stopped. It's not the bulb.

About the same time (maybe the exact same time), my gear selector light that's under the shifter stopped working. Now, it has been kind of intermittent (unlike the corner marker), seems like it was off for about 3 months, then on consistently for about 3-4 months....and now it's back off again. Again, it is not a bulb issue.

I assume it has to be a grounding issue somehow...but these are the only two things that I have to work off of, and I'm not very good at electrical troubleshooting. Every single stinkin' other thing on the truck works perfectly. Just not these two dang lights.....

Sorry, this might be in the wrong section. But any advice from this section is welcome!!

Last edited by quicksilvr; 03-05-2011 at 08:19 PM.
Old 03-11-2011, 09:24 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Odd very odd.

Don't really see how the 2 lamps could be electrically connected that far apart. My immediate guess would be corrosion at the back of the lamp assembly (where it grounds)

Go after the corner light first-just cause it's easier to get at. So you are saying all the other parking lights work fine except this one? You just visually looking at the bulb-or you have swapped in other good ones-like the one from the other side?
Old 03-12-2011, 09:51 AM