86-95 Trucks & 4Runners (Build-Up Section) Post your build-ups here

EBow951's 1993 Pickup Build-Up

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2011, 09:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EBow951's 1993 Pickup Build-Up

Hey all,

It's been a while in the making, but I'm finally getting serious with my delusions of grandeur; I'm looking at rebuilding my '93 pickup from the tires up. I am an amateur armed with my Chilton and Toyota Service Manual, good help, and a lot of determination. Twist: I've got two trucks to work with, my '93 22re daily driver, and my rusted out '87 22r on jacks. For being so similar, as many of you know, many of the components couldn't be any different.

'93 22RE Reg Cab Dlx
G58 Tranny
VF1A Transfer
Top Shifting
Vacuum 4x4

'87 22R Reg Cab Dlx
G52 Tranny
RF1A Transfer
Forward Shifting
Manual Hubs 4x4

I've also picked myself up a used transmission of unknown origin, a W56, though I'm not sure of it's working condition or style. I haven't looked into it but at first glance it appears to be a 'B' style.

The idea is to strip the '87 clean for parts and deconstruction experience. This winter, the goal will be to complete a refurbishing of the block and install a new head and components for my 22RE, completing a swap in the spring into my '93. Secondary thoughts: Refurbishing the frame / axles / and rebuilding from the tires up.

My preliminary thoughts for the engine part of the rebuild does include power upgrades, though keeping reasonable mileage would be nice. I do a bit of Forest-Service-Road driving and off-roading, but mostly I do a lot of highway and daily driving. What I most desire is a power boost to "get me over that mountain in 4th gear". These are my thoughts for purchases, mostly based on packages available from LC Engineering, but not limited to or set in stone. One consideration for me is my location; shipping and duty to Canada can be an expensive pain. I'm fully open to local or alternative distributers and options to products.