Maintenance & Repair Archives Note: This section will be merged in with the other tech areas soon, and is now closed

Recommended oils for high mileage engines

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2004, 08:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Recommended oils for high mileage engines

I was wondering what type of oil you guys use for high mileage engines. My runner has 200,600+ miles on it and i've been using pennzoil SUV oil recommended by the guys at a nearby Jiffylube. Is it necessary that i use that type of oil or can i just use a regular 10w-30 type? Thanks in advance

BTW, i just do normal everyday driving, no off-roading, etc... i do drive occasionally to the mountains when the snow season starts :xmas7:

Last edited by junbug; 09-18-2004 at 08:59 AM.
Old 09-18-2004, 09:37 AM
Contributing Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
This is your lucky day! I've no experience with this blend. Maybe you could try it and give us some feedback.
Old 09-18-2004, 10:19 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I've always used Valvoline 10-40 in the winter & 20-50 in the summer! I got 277,000 original miles out of it before the HG started to leak, and my old '88 3.0 is still going strong that I sold, I told him to use Valvoline. Maybe it's the oil or the fact that how often you change your oil and keep everything clean on the inside!
Old 09-18-2004, 10:36 AM
Banned

penzoil sucks, it leaves film in your engine over time and makes sludge! jiffylube is crap!
Old 09-19-2004, 04:27 AM

Mobile 1 10w-30 synthetic.
Old 09-19-2004, 05:04 AM

Location: Far western Kentucky (transplanted from central PA)
I always stuck with brand-name dino and changed the oil and filter regularly and never had any problems. I've had 3 high mileage Toyotas with over 200,000 miles and 1 with 178,000. As far as I know, at lease 2 of them are still on the road. I would suggest sticking with a name brand and recommended viscocity and forget all that hype over high mileage engine oil.
Old 09-19-2004, 02:10 PM