Maintenance & Repair Archives Note: This section will be merged in with the other tech areas soon, and is now closed

Do-It-Yourself Bedliners

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2005, 08:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fair enough. So I made a "hasty generalization" from my own experience & from what others had told me from other areas of the country that I've met at truck shows. Seems fair from my point of view. I spray this stuff on the side, mostly for friends, friends of friends & so on...no unhappy customers yet & I've been doing it for 5 yrs. just to make a little extra cash to build my own trucks or to trade work that I can't do myself. I'd think if anyone would be brutally honest, it would be friends. I'm NOT bashing to increase buisness - I'm busy enough with my "day job"!!

Besides, don't take my word for it...every product has pro/cons....just do a google search on Rhino Liner problems - 31,000 hits...Hmmm.
Oops -there I go bashing again.

As for plastic, all we do is spray it with Speedliner's primer first - it acts like an etch. I'll see if I can dig up pics of the finished product, sorry no links, I'm not running a website for Speedliner.....the end result can speak for itself...

I'll be back tomorrow - getting late here.
Old 03-31-2005, 09:48 PM

well i've personally done my two trucks in herculiner and for the price i'm not disappointed one bit. I haven't had a bit of it flake off in either truck, but the stuff does fade. It's just a bit quicker than a rhinoliner or line-x, but it's no different than any other liner after a few years anyways. I've learned the key to using this stuff is the prep work. I sanded (not just scuffed) the entire bed with 40 grit on a DA for a good hour before doing anything else, then cleaned it really well and then laid out the liner. The bed of my Yota gets serious use, and I'm in no way gentle on the liner. Never had a scratch or chip in it in the 2 years or so since we did it.

jmho
Old 04-01-2005, 03:44 AM