Solid Axle Swaps, All Years Anything SAS related

91 Yota SAS Need Advice. 1st time

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2009, 06:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
91 Yota SAS Need Advice. 1st time

I've had and wheeled a stock 1991 toyota xtra cab pickup for 3 years now and its time for an upgrade. It does pretty good as is, stock with 31 muds, but I want to advance my wheelin.

I picked up a front axle of a 83 yota this weekend, and I'm buying some 35's off of a buddy for way cheap. I think you see where I'm goin with this.

I'm a poor college student so money is limited. Whats the best/most affordable way for my truck to be solid axled and sitting on 35's? (By the way, I have access to a full fabrication shop full of equipment and tools)

-Thanks
Attached Thumbnails 91 Yota SAS Need Advice. 1st time-truck-trade-002.jpg   91 Yota SAS Need Advice. 1st time-truck-trade-001.jpg   91 Yota SAS Need Advice. 1st time-yota-tech.gif  
Old 09-21-2009, 06:47 AM
Contributing Member

why not go with ball joint spacers and some taller leafs in the back and wheel it until the IFS dies? It would be cheaper and easier then doing a full SAS. (keeping your financial status in mind)
Old 09-21-2009, 02:21 PM

I dont want to spend money doing things the crapy way. I've never heard of IFS "dieing". I'm going to do a SAS. I'm just looking to do it as cost effective as possible
Old 09-21-2009, 02:28 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Get a rear locker and wheel the IFS more...Get some 33x10.5 tires instead of the 35s.
IFS is not the "crappy" way.. its just not the SFA way.
Old 09-21-2009, 02:45 PM

why not just fab your own sas kit for "FREE"since you have access to a shop. Thousands and thousands of people have done it. get yourself a set of thornbirds and you will be rockin
Old 09-21-2009, 03:13 PM
Banned

Received 20 Likes on 9 Posts
Welcome to Yotatech.

There are several threads on this forum along specifically about cheap SAS. Search.

Old 09-21-2009, 03:15 PM