FJ Cruiser 2007 & on

newbie ... how do you like yours ?

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2007, 05:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
newbie ... how do you like yours ?

hey all, im looking into getting an FJ cruiser, ive always been a fan of the FJ (all years from the 40 to the regular land cruiser and now the newest fj cruiser) . ... i got REALLY into them when i saw the rough country 6 inch lift in a 4wheel magazine (i currently have an old z71 chevy that i love).

anyway, on to the point... im a newb to "real" off road, and doubt ill even take my FJ to serious trails (just the jersey pines and maybe some eastern PA stuff).

id really like to be able to fit 35s under it, but if the 6 incher cant handle any tough off road im wondering if the OME 3 is really enough lift just fitting 33s ?

does anyone have any pics with a 3 inch lifted parked next to a stock FJ?

ive seens a lot of really impressive videos of the stock FJs, seems like theyre pretty nice rigs for a "dual purpose" type vehicle.

thanks a lot for any input.
Old 05-27-2007, 05:36 AM
Co-Founder/Administrator
Staff

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Hello, welcome to YotaTech.

You can fit 33s now under the FJ in stock form if you keep the factory wheels which have a great offset and tuck them in close.

However if you go with aftermarket wheels, they will stick out some, and it is a good idea to do the "body mount trim" procedure.
http://forum.ih8mud.com/showthread.php?t=137655

I run the OME 3" lift with stock size tires, only in muds.
I am stepping up to the 33s later on, not sure if I will need to do the body mount trim or not since I have the lift.

I have seen many pics around the 'Net of a stock FJ sitting next to one with the OME 3" lift on it, quite a difference.

Myself I think 6" is pushing it for an IFS rig.

This woman here was rubbing with 33" tires and a 3" lift, but that was due to her choice in aftermarket wheels which stuck out a lot further than the stock wheels.