YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2007, 11:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 156
regular cluster to sr5 swap???

i swapped my dash cluster from a regular one to a sr5 cluster. i doesn't seem to work out very well. the tach doen't work, and the temp gauge don't work right. the gauge always does right from the bottom to in the middle of the temp gauge. whats wrong here? i don't care about any of it but the temp gauge. please let me know.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
4x4yoda is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
This one time, at band camp
Personal Sales Rating: (20)
Staff
 
DeathCougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 17,502
Send a message via AIM to DeathCougar Send a message via Yahoo to DeathCougar
did it come from a v6 truck? or a trubo truck?
__________________
Tacoma miniheader install kit Now available! Click here for ordering information

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigBluePile View Post
Hmmm, dunno. Ask the oem Nazi DC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiyobrown View Post
I'll cut you.
DeathCougar is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 11:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
drew303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 2,882
you dont care about any of it but the temp guage?




what was the point then? lol
__________________
1987 Pickup (Truggy), single cab, 22R, E-fan, 260 cam
BUILD THREAD
TG 3" FR Springs, TG 4" R Springs, rear disc-brakes, chromoly rear axles, chromoly 27 Birfs, T-case brake, 5x 37x12.50r15 Goodyear MTR, Yukon 5.29 gears, F/R Aussie Lockers, MC 1600lb clutch, Magnaflow
drew303 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2007, 11:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 156
its from a sr5 4runner 22re 5-speed.

i just want to make sure my truck isn't overheating.
4x4yoda is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 09:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
thook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NW Ark on wooded ten acres...Ozarks at large!
Posts: 8,322
Well, you could always send it to me. I can install it on mine and troubleshoot for you. I just hope I can get it back off....

Can you explain a little more. How did you wire it in?
__________________
Matthew

Context is everything....
Quote:
Originally Posted by abecedarian View Post
freckles, shmeckles... that was your acne reflecting on my pearlescent skin.
My favorite method of troubleshooting..... :D
Quote:
Originally Posted by HighLux View Post
Oh...that was me thinking...then stopping mid sentence...then some more babbling and such. LOL
thook is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 09:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
rdlsz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 1,482
Send a message via AIM to rdlsz24
If you just want it for the temp gauge you could buy a little mechanical one of those (I have a SunPro one) that actually gives you a temperature number, not just "in the red"

Rob
__________________
1988 Xtra Cab Pickup ('94 22RE; 4x4; 5spd)
Rancho lift w/ 33x12.5x15 tires & 5.29s
- SOLD January 2010 -
rdlsz24 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 04:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 156
i just plugged in the connections that where there.
4x4yoda is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 05:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
foot0069's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Petersburg va.
Posts: 318
Heres a great article on the tach fix if you are interested. I dialed mine in, in about 3 minutes using the little pot they show. You do have to take the guts out of the housing though. Borrowed an old dwell tach meter from a local garage to get the true reading. The fsr available at the second link should help you diagnose the temp gauge. It should only be 1 of 3 things. Bad sender, bad gauge or bad wire. Was the gauge on the old cluster working before the swap? That should narrow things down. If you hooked the cluster up with the old oil pressure sender still hooked up you have prolly toasted the oil pressure gauge allready.
Jim

http://www.mindspring.com/~jayk3/toyota/tachmod.htm


http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...fsm/index.html
foot0069 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 06:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 156
oil pressure is find. i swapped the oil pressure gauge first thing. the temp gauge is my worry. i run my motor with out a t-stat. the old gauge never came off cold(about 1/8th of the way up). before i took it out it ran hot from that temp over shoot deal. i drove the truck like that for months. i swapped the cluster and its just weird.
4x4yoda is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 06:59 PM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
cluster, gauge, pickup, sr5, swap, tach, tachmod, toyota, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sr5 cluster? 85TurboRunner 84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 3 03-25-2007 07:14 PM
sr5 gauge cluster toy power The Classifieds GraveYard 2 03-20-2007 12:37 PM
SR5 Gauge Cluster DeathCougar 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 4 04-19-2006 11:12 AM
Important info on the SR5 tach cluster swap... mikedog 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 1 02-15-2005 06:44 AM
Please! !Help! with SR5 cluster swap problem.... 92'longbed4WD 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 1 06-26-2003 08:55 PM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:42 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2