YotaTech Forums  

Go Back   YotaTech Forums > Toyota SUV & Truck Tech > General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years

Welcome to Yotatech!
Welcome to Yotatech,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-10-2010, 09:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
lctmjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to lctmjw
Non-working fuel gauge

I just bought (sight unseen) a 91 Landcruiser. Pretty solid overall with 135k, but it wasn't well taken care of and needs some tlc. My biggest concern at the moment is the fuel gauge isn't working, though fortunately the low level light does. Am I correct to assume that the the float and sending unit are functioning, since the low level light works? Any advice greatly appreciated, I know very little about these trucks.
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Yotatech!
lctmjw is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
myyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: GrangeVille, Idaho
Posts: 4,170
If the sending unit and low fuel sensor is set up like my 86 4Runner, Then the fuel gauge sending unit and low fuel light are mounted together but are two seperate units, so the fuel gauge sending unit can go bad and not work at all, but the low fuel light will still operate normally. The sending unit on my 4Runner is going bad also and because both of these units are together in one unit i bet its going to be an expensive part to replace.
__________________
86 Toyota 4Runner

Solid Axle Swap, 5'' lift, 37x12.50-15 MTR`s, Trail Gear High Steer, 5 speed manual swap, InchWorm Duel Cases, 63'' Chevy Springs In The Rear, 5'' Trail Gear Springs In Front, 27 Spline Chromoly Axles In Front, 4.88 Gears, Detroit Locker In The Rear, High Pinion Front With An ARB, Downey Header, AFM Upgrade, 95 Amp Alternator, Trail Gear Sliders, Addicted Offroad Front Bumper.
myyota is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
lctmjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to lctmjw
Thanks for the quick reply. I imagine the senders are in the tank.. Wonder if I can get to them via the cargo area? Guess it's time to buy another TSRM.
lctmjw is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
myyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: GrangeVille, Idaho
Posts: 4,170
I don`t know anything about Landcruisers, but on my 4Runner there is an access panel under the rear seat for the fuel pump, but to get to the fuel gauge sending unit you have to remove the gas tank to get to it.
__________________
86 Toyota 4Runner

Solid Axle Swap, 5'' lift, 37x12.50-15 MTR`s, Trail Gear High Steer, 5 speed manual swap, InchWorm Duel Cases, 63'' Chevy Springs In The Rear, 5'' Trail Gear Springs In Front, 27 Spline Chromoly Axles In Front, 4.88 Gears, Detroit Locker In The Rear, High Pinion Front With An ARB, Downey Header, AFM Upgrade, 95 Amp Alternator, Trail Gear Sliders, Addicted Offroad Front Bumper.
myyota is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2010, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
Threadstarter [OP]
 
lctmjw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to lctmjw
Wow, that sucks. I'm kind of surprised the sending units aren't as accessible as the pump. There's no chance I'm removing the fuel tank before spring comes, may have to break down and pay someone to do this for me. Not cool. Thanks for the quick info.
lctmjw is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 11:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
otarunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 9
is there by chance a relay that is faulting between gas tank and the other end of the gas gauge my gauge also dont work took a working sending unit didnt make a difference and it is a 1986 4runner
otarunner is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 03:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 547
My 86 pickup the fuel gauge stopped working, so I took the sending unit out of the tank, tore it apart replaced the top made new connections on the variable resistor and when I was finished I checked all the ohm readings as per the FSM and it was spot on. Put it back in the tank and it wouldn't work. So I ordered a new one from Toyota put it in the tank and nothing, so I said to heck with it, filled up my truck and drove it. On the first trip into town it started working again, so don't be discouraged if you repair it and the gauge doesn't work right away. The moral of this story is I bought a sending unit that I really didn't need, I may put the repaired one back in and keep the other for a spare. There is mo relayin this circuit on an 86 and I dopubt if there is one on the landcruiser...the current draw is so low it would be a waste of a relay.

Last edited by Hadmatt54; 03-17-2011 at 03:03 AM.
Hadmatt54 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 05:38 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Mr.Utah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northrn Utah
Posts: 307
How much are the sending units?
__________________
1987 truck 22r, carbed
1996 4runner
http://www.yotatech.com/members/87wh...7+project.html
Mr.Utah is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 547
Part # 83320-39695 Sending unit 86-88 pick-up 4wd sr5 w/o turbo
$137.69 from Champion Toyota Houston Texas.
Hadmatt54 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 04:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Mr.Utah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northrn Utah
Posts: 307
Thanks, they are asking $181 here in SLC.
__________________
1987 truck 22r, carbed
1996 4runner
http://www.yotatech.com/members/87wh...7+project.html
Mr.Utah is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 07:21 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
yotarover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 789
BlackLex
this one isn't as old as some others. will the sending unit from a late model 88 work pre(89)
__________________
Info on our trucks:

NC parks near Shelby,Forest City,Rutherfordton.: Lake Houser ohv park ... open invite

The Flats- Open August 24-26 marion nc
yotarover is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:51 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 547
Quote:
yotarover: this one isn't as old as some others. will the sending unit from a late model 88 work pre(89)
Not exactly sure what you are asking...would you care to give some detail?
Hadmatt54 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 04:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
celica_gtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: az
Posts: 3
Im havin the same problem on my turbo 87 runner.. I bought the truck w a non workin the dash was flashin on the meter and the lamp on.. I replaced the float and still doesn't work. Gauge stoped flashing but not reading. I saw resistance in the float and 5v.. where do I go from here? Btw it does have the digital cluster.
celica_gtx is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 04:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
celica_gtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: az
Posts: 3
And it has fuel in it.. appx 5 gals..it should atleast bring up a bar..
celica_gtx is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 07:38 AM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
Mr.Utah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northrn Utah
Posts: 307
I went the rounds myself with the fuel gauge problems, spent the money and put in a new one, problem solved. My old one would get to a 1/4 tank then drop to empty. Still have it if you want the old one?
__________________
1987 truck 22r, carbed
1996 4runner
http://www.yotatech.com/members/87wh...7+project.html
Mr.Utah is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 07:55 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
celica_gtx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: az
Posts: 3
Ima try gasin it up more than to see it that's about the same problem w me.. I had purchesed a used one from yoda jims.. im track the wires and make sure everything is good.. thanks tho ill let you know
celica_gtx is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 08:31 AM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
FattMaanLittleTruck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Hillsboro and Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 39
roll1up_allday
i just picked up a fuel sending unit for $14 from the junkyard.

glad I didn't pay $100+ at the stealership.
FattMaanLittleTruck is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 06:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
Personal Sales Rating: (0)
 
ashtonbrn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 15
I've got the same problem on my 88 4Runner. Fuel gauge doesn't work so I go off miles and the low fuel light. Had to put that one off to fix other things.
ashtonbrn is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiTweet this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2011, 06:39 PM
Yotatech
4WD Truck




Paid Advertisement
Reply

Tags
86, 88, dont, fuel, gage, gas, gauge, guage, pickup, runner, sending, toyota, unit, work, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:12 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2