General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics Ask here for electrical, wiring, and lighting info for your rig that could apply to all years
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Gauge lights not working

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2009, 09:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gauge lights not working

I put in a head unit and everything was going fine until I was putting the dash back together and the connector for the optional clock, which I do not have, sparked. One of the four wires broke off and touched another wire. I had no radio power. One fuse blew under the hood. Then I thought everything was fine till it got dark out. Now the headlights work but no gauge lights. I am not good with electrical issues. I have checked all of the fuses and can't find a problem. There is not power to the guage light bulbs but there is power to the dimmer switch. Maybee it is burned out. Also all the dash lights and shifter light is out. I'm in the dark on this one and need some help.
Old 02-26-2010, 10:43 AM

Dash light dimmer switch

I realize this post is old, but it may help someone who comes across it in the future. It sounds as though your electrical problem is your dimmer switch. The dimmer switch actually consists of a switch, resistors, transistor, and capacitors. This type of electronics can be damaged pretty easily. You can bypass the switch temporarily until you get a replacement by jumping the white w/black stripe wire to the red w/ blue stripe wire. The green w/red stripe wire is not necessary for the dash lights to illuminate. Hope this helps someone!
Old 03-02-2010, 08:33 AM

Dimmer

Hi thanks. I will try this. Awhile ago I found a switch in the junk yard from a geo prism that look exactly the same and it did not work but I will still try this. If it does not work I am looking into those reverse glow gauges.
Old 03-06-2010, 05:45 PM

There is also two relays right above the brake pedal for lighting.
Old 03-09-2010, 02:07 AM

Originally Posted by skinny_pedal