Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Stock starter relay to painless Hotshot

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2007, 12:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stock starter relay to painless Hotshot

Ok guys, mechanically I can follow directions and do anything with a set of instructions. Computer wise I repair networks and computers for a living. But, when it comes to electrical components I am a little worried and somewhat scared. I can comprehend relays and wiring etc, but just need a little guidance and reassurance. I just want to make sure my mind is on the right track before I go and order the relay and start putting it in.

The starter on the truck has been replaced several times, new battery cables, new battery, new everything except ignition switch and starter relay. I have read a bunch of people using the Hot shot say it fixed all the intermitten click problems. My truck will crank fine several times and then suddenly, just click. Always different, sometimes doesn't crank after being run, sometimes doesn't crank when cold. So down to the fun stuff.

In the picture the silver box should be the starter relay, correct? I am wanting to bypass the stock starter relay and instead wire in a Painless Hot Shot relay. Not the fancy bump switch one but just the standard relay. The stock relay has three wires, a thicker gauge black with red stripe, a red, and a yellow. Anyone with the diagrams know which one is the ignition switch?

I will need to connect the ignition switch wire to the small gauge purple painless wire, then the large gauge red painless to the battery post on the starter, and the large gauge purple wire to solenoid on the starter. If I understand the directions correctly.