Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Noob drum brake questions-

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2007, 08:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Noob drum brake questions-

Hello all- I've never done a brake job before, but my rear brakes need replacement, so I'm going to give it a shot. (I searched, but only found threads about installing rear disc brakes. Sounds cool, but I need a parking brake). Here are my questions:

1) I strongly suspect I need new drums. OEM drums are approximately 2x as expensive as the Duralast drums from autozone. Are the autozone ones fine, or should I pay extra for the OEM drums?

2) Anyone have any preference on brake shoe brands? I've seen some posts indicating Raybestos was not the best brand out there. Anyone want to offer recommendations?

Thanks!

-Scubaduck
Old 06-02-2007, 07:20 PM
Contributing Member

http://www.4x4wire.com/toyota/maintenance/rearbrakes/
Old 06-02-2007, 11:18 PM

Thanks- That's a pretty clear, concise write up. I am mostly confident about the process of the brake job itself, I just don't know about the replacement parts. I mostly wanted to find out if there is any benefit to spending the extra $ for OEM, or if the el cheapo brands work fine.

Meanwhile, I discovered that I have an axle seal leak. Despite the clear write-up on replacing the seal, I suspect that project is beyond my ability to do myself, so I may just have the mechanic take care of the whole thing.

Thanks again-

Scubaduck
Old 06-03-2007, 10:00 AM
Contributing Member

If you can change the brake shoes then you can replace the axle seal IMO. I know this because when I changed my axle seal, I couldn't figure out how to change the brake shoes ( I didn't have the writeup at the time ). The bearing is a different story, it looks very difficult for someone without a 2 ton press and a torch. I chose not to replace mine, and no problems yet.
Old 06-05-2007, 09:01 AM

Thanks crbocaj125-