Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

Need Expert Modification Advice, Toyota Pickup newb here (slight problem)

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2011, 05:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Need Expert Modification Advice, Toyota Pickup newb here (slight problem)

Ok, here's my problem I have run into being a complete newb to trucks... I am learning though

My problem is my truck is not like most here, it's 4x2, and most suckage of all, its an AUTOMATIC which apparently limits my chance at getting a cheap 3 inch lift kit, no?

Anyways, I recently picked up a standard cab 22RE AUTO 1991 Toyota Pickup identical to the grey one picture below.... what I want to do is make it look very similar to the red truck in the 2nd pic but I can't seem to find the cheap parts that will work with my specific truck.

Can you guys please help me out, you guys seem to know 500x more than I do (thanks to bmcel on here for uploading his truck pics, even though I photochopped it a bit hehehe)

what it looks like now:

What I want it to look like:

I know the rims are Soft 8 wheels which cost around $40-50 shipped each... I know some of you know this, but WHAT SIZE TIRE can I fit without rubbing (for sure) on a set of 15 inch black soft 8s? And I probably can't find the now rare custom billet chrome grill, so its not super important to me really.....

Thanks for all who help me out, I appreciate it!

CHEERS
Old 01-25-2011, 05:36 PM

http://www.carid.com/1989-toyota-pic...LAID=411903605

10 seconds on google?
Old 01-25-2011, 05:47 PM

Oh sweet, thanks.. I was reading and someone here mentioned that they might not make them any more.

Now I just need to find a cheaper lift kit for my setup (standard cab,4x2,Automatic)... does it exist under $500? And that's all I would need for slightly bigger tires (31's would work no?) or is there more "lift" and suspension parts needed?