Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

94 Toyota 22re won't start

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-2014, 02:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
94 Toyota 22re won't start

Hello, I am new to this so please excuse my lack of knowledge with the whole operation. I am needing some help with my 94 toyota pickup. 3 weeks ago, I was driving my truck with no problems. I shut it off at a friend's house and when I went to leave, it wouldn't start back. I've never had any issues with it starting or running. I couldn't hear the fuel pump running. Replaced fuel pump, it started blowing EFI fuses. Replaced EFI relay (which had an internal short), still blowing fuses. Took it to a mechanic to diagnose, they said that the Mass Air Flow Sensor had an internal short and that the fuel pump may also still be bad. Found a MAF sensor at a junkyard, replaced it. Fuel pump doesn't run unless I open the vane in the MAF by hand. Even then, I have no fuel at the rail and the truck wont start. Any ideas/suggestions would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks!!!
Old 11-14-2014, 04:00 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

Welcome To Yota Tech.

Is there enough fuel in the tank??

First the 22Re does not have a MAF it has a AFM You did test both the old and yard AFM to see one had failed and the other was good??

What happens when you jumper B+ to FP at the check connector??

Just which fuse is still opening??

Is the switch in the AFM failing to work from getting dirt into or just getting old. Massive vacuum leaks ??

When you changed the fuel pump did you do this or have it done??

Just what brand pump was installed??

Was a new sock and fuel filter also installed.

If the fuel pump is running and your not getting fuel all over the ground from a massive leak . The pump should pressurize the fuel rail and return via the return line .

You have checked that you did not have a timing gear shear off on the cam??

Some things to look at.
Old 11-14-2014, 04:41 PM