Newbie Tech Section Often asked technical questions can be asked here

3vz click but no start...?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2011, 11:12 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
3vz click but no start...?

im new to the whole 3vz deal, and im quite confused...i treid searching for this problem and all i came up with was that the 3vz doesnt have a starter relay? (wich i physiclly saw on the pasengers side fender)

so here's the deal...the starter worked great up untill one day...im pretty sure its not the starter but im not sure...i just think the starter isnt getting any juice, as i cant hear it whine or trying to spin...(i treid tapping on it too just for the heck of it)...and i pop started it a few times, wich would have freed up the starter if it was stuck right?

well anyway, when you try to start it pushing in the clutch, you get a click from behind the glovebox...when you try to start it with the clutch down and the clutch by-pass switch engaged, you get a high pitch click (wich i think is the click behind the glovebox PLUS the starter relay on the inner fender)

when you turn the key to start it, the dash lights will get just a little bit dimmer (when my 85 had starter problems and i got the click but no start the lights would get wayy dimmer, possibly because the power went to the starter,wich was stuck. i think they get dim because power goes to the fuel pump, wich i can hear running/"pumping" (if that makes more sense) but not as dim as my 85 because the starter doesnt engage)

im just wondering what to check or test, this whole new 3vz is major confusing compared to the 22re LOL
Old 03-26-2011, 11:16 AM
Contributing Member

Received 29 Likes on 26 Posts
See below for a quick test:
- http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTri...shtml#EasyTest
Old 03-26-2011, 12:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
check/clean battery terminals also check ground cable on starter
Old 03-26-2011, 02:04 PM