86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

what hubs do I have?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2014, 02:14 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
what hubs do I have?

Sorry for posting such a noob type question, working on and modding cars is something I do for a living but im new to my 4 Runner.

I have a 93 4X4 SR5 V6 with auto hubs. do I have ADD? Looking at getting the Warn or Rugged Ridge manual hub conversion.

Last edited by Smaay; 05-21-2014 at 08:15 PM.
Old 05-21-2014, 03:16 PM

Received 99 Likes on 86 Posts
Red face

If you have ADD you do not have Automatic hubs you have just a cover plate covering the access to the wheel bearings

You can tell if you Have ADD by the valve that sits on Top of the front differential .

Just put your Warn Hubs on It should have the 2 Nuts the lock plate you just might need the thrust washer The snap rings that hold the CV axle it has been a while since I put my Warn Hubs on I don`t remember.
Old 05-21-2014, 03:32 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Check out http://home.4x4wire.com/erik/diffs/

specifically:

Note the upper NON-ADD tube vs the lower (detached) ADD tube
Old 05-21-2014, 04:59 PM
RJR

Received 109 Likes on 81 Posts
I think the ADD system had pretty much completely replaced the automatic hubs by 1993, so it's likely you have ADD. The Aisin (OEM) manual hubs are generally considered the best, and a set can be picked up on ebay for $100 or so if you watch for them. Might have to disassemble and clean them up, but that's not at all difficult. Several good writeups on this site about it. Once you get them cleaned up and ready to go, putting them on is a snap. No need to mess with the CV axle snap ring or even to jack up the truck. Just pull off the grease cap, remove the gold bolt, remove the drive plates (assuming ADD), and replace them with the hubs. Replace the gold bolt, put on the cap, and you're good to go.