Notices
86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

TPS Fault and Tranny issues

Old 12-11-2007, 12:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question TPS Fault and Tranny issues

Hey there folks, first off I wanna say this place rocks, been reading and learning since before I inherited (for a price) the family 4Runner last December. After driving it for a year with a tranny that takes about 10 minutes of warming up to shift into OD, and doesn't like to shift back out, I am finally tackling the problem. I would love to just swap in a manual transmission, but being a college student in an apartment, that ain't gonna happen for a bit. I've got 10 years of mechanical experience, so I can handle the tech terms so please lay it on me.

Heres my approach to the problem so far. I checked the codes, expecting (and kinda hoping for) a solenoid to be faulty, but the codes don't show that. Instead, it threw a code 41 from the CEL and so immediately I started diagnosing the TPS (Code 41 = TPS issue). So I tested first at the ECM, getting very poor OHM readings from all but one wire-wire combination. Next i removed the TPS and got the same results, basically telling me the TPS is faulty. My question is first, does anyone know if a parts house can test a TPS more definitively like they can a Alternator or something like that? I just don't wanna buy a new one and have no change. I know the tranny problems can be related to this, so any input is much appreciated. Any one else find that replacing the TPS helped with OD problems? Thanks again for all the info i've been absorbing so far.

-Zach
Old 12-11-2007, 05:25 AM

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
How did you run the test? What were your readings?