intake air temp sensor - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   > >


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

intake air temp sensor

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-03-2008, 02:51 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ontario4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: belleville Ontario
Posts: 66
intake air temp sensor

hey guys.
quick question, 91 4runner, 3VZE have searched but cant seem to find anything, as well in the manual i downloaded from the sticky

where on earth is the air intake temperature sensor? and how do i test it.. code 24 i believe.. as well whichever code for coolant temp sensor but i got that one covered.. please help! my search for my terrible idle is seemingly coming to an end! haha me---> toyota
ontario4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 03:09 PM   #2
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ontario4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: belleville Ontario
Posts: 66
anyone at all?
ontario4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 03:10 PM   #3
Registered User
iTrader: ( 1 )
 
space-junk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wilton, CA
Posts: 4,575
im not sure that there is an "air intake temp sensor"
space-junk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 03:14 PM   #4
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ontario4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: belleville Ontario
Posts: 66
really? because jumped te1 and e1 terminals and came up with code 23/ 24 which is intake air temperature sensor/ intake air temperature circuit
ontario4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 03:23 PM   #5
Registered User
 
project91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 171
Intake air temp sensor is the little white probe sticking down into the AFM.It will be on the intake tube side,(have to pull the AFM off) measures the temp of the air that is coming through the AFM....can be cleaned with electrical contact cleaner...if the problem persists, more than likely the AFM is bad. The wires that connect to it go through the main plug that is connected to the top of your AFM.
project91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 03:27 PM   #6
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ontario4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: belleville Ontario
Posts: 66
AFM? air flow meter? maybe haha
ontario4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 04:40 PM   #7
Registered User
iTrader: ( 1 )
 
space-junk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wilton, CA
Posts: 4,575
Quote:
Originally Posted by ontario4runner View Post
really? because jumped te1 and e1 terminals and came up with code 23/ 24 which is intake air temperature sensor/ intake air temperature circuit
I stand corrected... just chalk it up to being a noob!!
space-junk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 04:55 PM   #8
Contributing Member
 
Jay351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: maple ridge, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 9,055
Use an ohm meter and test out your AFM. It takes all of 10 mins to do, if the air temp sensor is wired into it, you will be able to find out the problem.
Jay351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 05:09 PM   #9
Registered User
 
jason191918's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hopkins, MN
Posts: 1,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay351 View Post
Use an ohm meter and test out your AFM. It takes all of 10 mins to do, if the air temp sensor is wired into it, you will be able to find out the problem.
http://www.ncttora.com/fsm/1993/engine/92volumeai.pdf

I never heard of a temp sensor, so it must be part of the AFM. Here is how to test it.
jason191918 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 05:23 PM   #10
Registered User
 
myyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: GrangeVille, Idaho
Posts: 4,166
The temp sensor is inside the AFM, if you remove the plastic cover you can get to it and were it plugs in.
myyota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 05:58 PM   #11
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ontario4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: belleville Ontario
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by space-junk View Post
I stand corrected... just chalk it up to being a noob!!

haha its all good! at least you took the time to have a look see, as i said i cant find much on it myself so if it wasent for the code reading i wouldnt have realized it myself!

to everyone else thanks mucho any more info would help greatly

is afm air flow meter?
ontario4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 06:08 PM   #12
Contributing Member
 
Jay351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: maple ridge, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 9,055
Yes, Volume Air Flow Meter.
Jay351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 06:12 PM   #13
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
ontario4runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: belleville Ontario
Posts: 66
awesome, thanks jay.. so the intake air temperature should be located inside of that? or should i be able to see the sensor with the AFM still on?.. i guess tomorow morning i will find out if i get lost ill post some pics
ontario4runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 06:25 PM   #14
Registered User
 
bigt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: chippawa niagara falls ontario
Posts: 3,278
not hard and with pics there aint nothing yotatech cant answer.. theres always some bored yota nut on here!
bigt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 03:53 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Ontario, California
Posts: 3
Iat

I too am getting a code 24 for the IAT sensor. I just replaced the AFM, but I am still getting a check engine light/code. However, I pull up the replacement IAT sensor at Auto Zone and get a little message that says the sensor cannot be used on pollution controlled vehicles. What does that mean? I just passed smog here in California and won't be due for another 2 years. How am I supposed to change this sensor and get rid of the light/code, if I'm not supposed to use it on pollution controlled vehicles? Anyone have an idea, or is this some stupid California thing. BTW, I have a 1990 4Runner SR5 V6 with a new engine, new everything, new sensors (except the IAT), etc. Any help would be great!!!
FireRox21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 04:02 PM   #16
Contributing Member
iTrader: ( 2 )
 
4Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 10,785
You can test the sensor:
- http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTri...tml#AFMtesting

Then see if that AFM signal is getting back to the ECU by testing the ECU connector pins for that same signal:
- http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTri...roubleshooting
4Crawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 01:20 PM   #17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Hey guys, my IAT is now playing up as well - short of replacing the whole afm what aftermarket IAT sensor can I use? OEM part is $220!

I did think of replacing it with a 7MGE upgrade...
JoelNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 05:03 PM   #18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 1
Intake air temp

The iac is the air intake temp sensor I believe and it is located in the throttle body!
Dam3vze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 04:51 PM   #19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1
codes 24 and 31

my 93 Toyota pickup turns over but wont start up I jumped the te1 and e1 to get the codes. the truck is throwing codes 24 and 31. Since I started driving the truck it did it 3 different occasions and it was always random. Can the air flow meter really cause the truck to not start up? I can also spray starter fluid in the intake and it will start up off of starter fluid then die again. can anyone help me?
nilow11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2015, 05:56 PM   #20
Contributing Member
iTrader: ( 2 )
 
4Crawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 10,785
You bet, air flow meter also has the fuel pump contacts that keep the fuel pump running on the EFI engine:
- http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTri...tml#AFMtesting

Might try the fuel pump test jumper as it should be running while the starter is running:
- http://www.4crawler.com/4x4/CheapTri...shtml#FuelPump
4Crawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Its beginning to look a lot like a head gasket?! (overheating) the1998sr5 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 13 01-11-2016 09:55 PM
Turbocharging A Stock 22re? RatOmeter 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 15 10-22-2015 03:17 PM
96 3.4, very high idle no vacuum leaks I can find greenbuggy 3.4 Swaps 4 07-23-2015 11:51 AM
Radiator leak. Now where to? (2000 v6) Avenged 95.5-2004 Tacomas & 96-2002 4Runners 4 07-09-2015 07:55 AM
1985 22re a/c install help bryan34w 84-85 Trucks & 4Runners 0 07-06-2015 05:53 PM


Tags
1990, 1992, 1995, 24, 4runner, air, code, dell, intake, runner, sensor, signal, temp, temperature, the, toyota

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:35 AM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.