emergency fuel cut off switch? - YotaTech Forums


Go Back   >


86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS

emergency fuel cut off switch?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2012, 08:24 PM   #1
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
AMSevo8man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NKY
Posts: 84
emergency fuel cut off switch?

I have a 92 pickup with the 22re in it. The question in as stated in the title... Do these trucks have an emergency fuel cut off switch and if so... where are they? I was pulling out of a field tonight and hit the pavement a little harder than I expected and my truck cut out instantly. I know its a fuel issue because I can spray starter fluid in the throttle body and it will run for half a second.
AMSevo8man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 08:58 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco East Bay
Posts: 4,926
I'm 99% sure the answer is "no."

Try jumping FP to B+ in the diagnostic connector. First, did you hear the fuel pump come on? Then, will it start and run? If so, something is wrong in the COR (Circuit Opening Relay) circuit, driven by the VAFM (Volume Air Flow Meter). That's the "emergency cutoff," when the VAFM says the engine isn't pulling air, the fuel pump shuts off. (The COR is initially driven by the Starting signal; since you can't get it to fire by cranking, my guess is you will NOT hear the fuel pump when you jump at the connector.)

Good luck!
scope103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:50 AM   #3
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,720
I'm 100% sure it's "no". The fuel pump is controlled by the Circuit Opening Relay.

The COR is controlled by:
1) the ignition switch- turns the COR on when "cranking" to start then engine
2) the Air Flow Meter- keeps the COR on when the engine is running.
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 06:53 AM   #4
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,720
And... if you have the intake tube (between the throttle body and the air filter) disconnected to spray starting fluid in, for instance, the engine won't run more than a few seconds at all since the AFM (like I mentioned) keeps the fuel pump on. Tube disconnected means no air through the AFM thus engine won't run.
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 08:38 AM   #5
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
AMSevo8man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NKY
Posts: 84
It's still a fuel issue though. It was running fine until I hit the bump going back onto the pavement then it just instantly died and won't restart. It cranks fine, like normal. Just not getting fuel.
AMSevo8man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 08:47 AM   #6
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,720
Okay....
Put a jumper between the B+ and FP terminals in the diagnostic check connector.

Try to start the engine.

Let me know what happens.
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 08:52 AM   #7
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
AMSevo8man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NKY
Posts: 84
Diag check connector. That's the like grey box next to the fuse box under the hood correct? It says diagnostics on it
AMSevo8man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 08:56 AM   #8
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,720
yup.

On the underside of the the lid, there's a diagram showing what the terminals in the connector are.
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:01 AM   #9
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
AMSevo8man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NKY
Posts: 84
Okay cool. I'll do that when I get home. Thanks for the help
AMSevo8man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:03 AM   #10
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,720
Well, you're welcome.

But I haven't really helped until the problem's fixed.
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 01:38 PM   #11
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
AMSevo8man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NKY
Posts: 84
Did what you said... Still nothing. So that rules out the fuel pump relay
AMSevo8man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 01:51 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Francisco East Bay
Posts: 4,926
Well, it doesn't rule it out, it just means that you have at least another problem.

"Still nothing" as in: you didn't hear the fuel pump? Most likely you have a dead pump. But before you take the tank apart, trace the wiring back to the tank. Use a voltmeter; with FP jumped you should be able to find 12v all the way back to the top of the tank, where the fuel pump has failed "open."

Don't have a voltmeter? No excuse for that: http://www.harborfreight.com/7-funct...ter-90899.html

Your "hard bump" could have broken part of the fuel pump wiring. Don't guess; work systematically from where you know you have voltage on the pump circuit (at the diagnostic connector) back to the pump.
scope103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 01:55 PM   #13
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
AMSevo8man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NKY
Posts: 84
I have a volt meter at work. I'm gonna get a trailer and take it to work so I dont have to stand outside and freeze my balls off.
AMSevo8man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 02:03 PM   #14
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,720
I agree with scope103. Inserting the jumper "should" have put voltage to the fuel pump, bypassing the COR and activating the fuel pump.

Out of curiousity, you have checked all of your fuses, right? Both under the dash and under the hood?

Does it even attempt to start when cranking it, but just won't keep running?
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:10 PM   #15
This one time, at band camp
Staff
iTrader: (23)
 
DeathCougar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 17,631
Has been covered here:

http://www.yotatech.com/f116/does-an...switch-152370/

And here:

http://www.yotatech.com/f120/roll-ov...ut-off-234529/

And here:

http://www.yotatech.com/f116/inertia...i-rigs-179168/

And here:

http://www.yotatech.com/f116/inertia-switch-110231/
DeathCougar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:58 PM   #16
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
AMSevo8man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NKY
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by abecedarian View Post
I agree with scope103. Inserting the jumper "should" have put voltage to the fuel pump, bypassing the COR and activating the fuel pump.

Out of curiousity, you have checked all of your fuses, right? Both under the dash and under the hood?

Does it even attempt to start when cranking it, but just won't keep running?
I haven't checked the fuses inside. I didnt even think of it to be honest. I checked the ones under the hood though. I'll go take a look see at the ones under the dash. It cranks like normal, it turns over. But wont actually start.
AMSevo8man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 04:11 PM   #17
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
AMSevo8man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NKY
Posts: 84
No blown fuses.
AMSevo8man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 04:28 PM   #18
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,720
I guess next thing to check is there actually is battery voltage on the B+ terminal in the check connector with the key on. If there is, then check continuity back to the fuel pump positive terminal through the FP connection.

You "could" try jumping from the physical battery + to the BP terminal in the check connector and see how it goes, as well as from physical battery + terminal to the FP terminal in the check connector.

Last edited by abecedarian; 01-16-2012 at 04:29 PM.
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 04:29 PM   #19
Registered User
 
abecedarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Temecula Valley, CA
Posts: 12,720
If either of those battery + jumpers fix the problem, it could be an issue with your ignition switch.
abecedarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 04:58 PM   #20
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
AMSevo8man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NKY
Posts: 84
I'm getting a trailer tonight and taking it to work tomorrow so I'll try a few different things and see where I end up
AMSevo8man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1991 Pickup - 3VZE fuel line / filter stripped out. How to replace? pyramid 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 10 07-30-2015 11:05 AM
94 pickup fuel lines Fundy Rider 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 4 07-16-2015 02:35 AM
94 pickup no brake lights plz help Johntom240 General Electrical & Lighting Related Topics 7 07-13-2015 01:18 AM
Gas gauge not working Tyler Cunningham 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 3 07-11-2015 11:18 AM
Write-up: Converting forward shift transfer case to a top shift for crawl box crashburnoveride 86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 1 07-10-2015 07:39 AM


Tags
22r, 93, cut, cutoff, emergency, fuel, location, pichup, pickup, pressure, sensor, shut, switch, toyota, yotatech

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:07 PM.


2010 InternetBrands, Inc.