86-95 Trucks & 4Runners 2nd/3rd gen pickups, and 1st/2nd gen 4Runners with IFS
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

complete newb.. replacing pitman arm idler arm

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2013, 09:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
complete newb.. replacing pitman arm idler arm

hey.. so i recently bought an 86 toyota pickup.. i took it to a mechanic to have it looked over and he told me the pitman arm and idler arm are both bad and need replaced.. part of the reason i bought this truck was so i could start learning how to working on my own vehicle..

anywho i was wondering if you guys might have a list of tools i would need? i'll google/youtube the process of removing the parts and what have ya but i dont know what all i need to buy.. i read that i need a grease gun? for the idler arm and i should do that when ever i change the oil.. so ya.. ;\ any tips on which tools ill need/brands to buy?
Old 07-24-2013, 09:44 AM

Received 822 Likes on 649 Posts
Don't waste time on YouTube. There is no intelligence test before anyone can post.
http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-b...ng/15steer.pdf

Do NOT use a "pickle fork." It's the mark of an amateur (yes, you are an amateur, but you don't need to act like one.)

Get a regular puller made for that purpose.
http://www.harborfreight.com/tie-rod...ller-1752.html
Old 07-24-2013, 09:49 AM

ty for the pdf and the tip about the puller.. would a 2wd and a 4wd have the same steering linkage or would that be different? also.. do you know what size wrenches i would need? i've never done more than change a tire lol so im gonna be buying a whole set of tools and a new jack (the one i have is really cheap and a pain to use)
Old 07-24-2013, 09:57 AM

Received 822 Likes on 649 Posts
Here's the whole manual: http://personal.utulsa.edu/~nathan-buchanan/93fsm/ It's for a '93, but mostly it's the same for all second-gen Toyota trucks.