Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Code 25 issues

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2015, 06:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Code 25 issues

Hey guys!

I'm back at square one with a code 25 issue I've been chasing down for 2 months now. Originally the check engine light came on one day then went out a few minutes later and stayed off for 2 weeks. When it came back on I pulled the code again to make sure it was still 25 and it was so I tackled the obvious things first: I replaced the O2 sensor with an OEM Denso one and it made no difference. I replaced the distributor to rule it out and it made no difference. I also replaced the spark plug wires, cap and rotor and nothing made a difference.I checked for 2 hours for vacuum leaks and could not find any at all. I pulled the wires with the engine running and did find I had no difference in the engine sound/performance when I pulled the center wire on the passenger side so the cylinder was dead. I pulled the spark plug and it was bone dry and had no gas smell so I concluded the injector was clogged or dead. I bought a set from TeamYota and replaced all 6, reset the ECU and the code was gone! Unrelated however, I had a coolant hose on the TB over the knock sensor connector crack and dump about a half gallon of coolant all over the connector and basically fill up the intake valley shorting out the sensor, and got a code 52. I paid dearly at a shop to have them replace the knock sensor and the pigtail connector and the code 52 is now gone. They also put on some new gaskets and replaced some shoddy vacuum lines and some crusty coolant lines. They checked the timing and set it to 10 degrees as the FSM states. However, 6 miles after I left the shop the check engine light came on again with a code 25!!! I just spoke with the lead tech at my shop and he was stumped. He suggested I change the fuel filter and the VAFM, and maybe bring it back in the have a fuel pressure test run. At this point I am very low on funds and ne